Skip to main content

Quality Team Awards


2016 Quality Awards

Quality Recognized at Luncheon

The annual Quality Awards recognize faculty, staff and cross-functional teams who are performing outstanding work across the college, and continuously improving processes and outcomes for student success.dfp 16b

The Distinguished Teaching Award was given to Melanie Adams, Associate Professor, Early Childhood Development Education; Ronald Elizaga, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Psychology; Daniel Foor, Assistant Professor and TechLINK Coordinator, Automotive Technology; and Jonathan Kreger, Professor, Social Sciences.

The Distinguished Full Professor Award was given to Mathematics Professor Leslie Smith, Interpreter Education Professor Christine Evenson, Health Information Management Professor Jane Roberts, and Landscape Design and Management Professor Dick Ansley.

Fred Douglas, Police Department dispatcher, was named Staff Employee of the Year, with Dianna Brackbill, office associate in International Enrollment recognized as Part-time Staff Employee of the Year.dta 16 a

Finally, the Team Awards recognize employee teams for process improvements and quality initiatives that benefit Columbus State and its students.

A Silver Team Award was given to the Petition to Graduate: Initiative to Complete team, which used data to determine why students in Business and Engineering Technologies were ending a few credits short of graduation. Additional counseling increased the graduation rates by double digits. The team members are: Mary Bond, Nichole Braun, Allison Deverteuil, Sarah Goff, Sheri Harrington, Marcy Leeds, Kathy Newman-Gall, and David Wells.

The second Silver Team Award went to the Deregistration Process Improvement Project team, a large cross-functional group who were able to answer the question: why do 5,000 students drop from classes every term, five days before the semester begins? Within a month’s time, the team decided on a deferral option for the payment of tuition, and eliminated the hassle of re-registration and related processes. Team members are: Jaimie Allen, John Donahue, Jan Ellis, Annetta Keller, Martin Maliwesky, David Metz, Stacey Peer, Abby Peterson, Regina Randall, Carla Reed, Aletha Shipley, and Michele Wade.seoy 16

The Gold Team Award went to the Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Exhibit, Film and Lecture Series team. The project was inspired by Wil Haygood’s latest book, “Showdown: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court Nomination that Changed a Nation."  The team organized a poster exhibit highlighting key court cases, an online guide, a film and lecture series, an art exhibit, and a companion display and programming in the Bookstore. An address by the author capped the four month-long event.

The team members include: Lorien Anderson, Daryl Brown, Laurinda Gruber, Lis Huey, Kristine Kinzer, Dana Knott, Bruce Massis, Frank Neutzling, Ryan Scott, Derek Zoladz, Bob Fitrakis, Adam Moskowitz, Eric Neubauer, Irene Petten, James Stewart, Marilyn Howard, Jennifer Nardone, Zachary Hill, Sandra Zeller, and Lisa Petersen.


            arrow  Previous year's Quality Awards finalists are here.