Skip to main content

Update mast head
July 15, 2019

 2019 Quality Recognition Awards

The annual Columbus State Community College Quality Recognition Awards luncheon was held last month to recognize the winners among those nominated for Employees of the Year, Distinguished Teaching Awards, Quality Improvement Teams, and Distinguished Full Professor. Formerly known as the Continue Quality Improvement Awards – or CQI – the name was changed to better reflect the recognitions.

Nominated by their students, and observed in the classroom by the selection committee, the four Distinguished Teaching Award winners are Sharon Stickley, assistant professor, Biological & Physical Sciences;  Margaret Owens, associate professor, Construction Management Design, Construction and Trades; Jennifer Mauck, assistant professor, Nursing; and Charla Fraley, associate professor, Business Management.

The winners were praised for their enthusiasm for their subject, their excellent rapport with their students, and their dedication to advancing student learning and success.

Distinguished Teaching Staff Employee of the Year Service Team Award II - Silver Distinguished Full Professor
Part-time Staff Employee of the Year Service Team Award - Silver Service Team Award - Gold  


Distinguished Teaching

photo of teaching award winners

 Distinguished Teaching award winners, left to right: Sharon Stickley, Margaret Owens, Jennifer Mauck, and Charla Fraley.

To top of page 

Part-time Staff Employee of the Year

Photo of PT staff employee of the year
Rebecca Clarridge was the Part-time Staff Employee of the Year

To top of page 

Staff Employee of the Year

Photo of the SEOY winner
The Staff Employee of the Year was Kevin Rooney.

To top of page 

Service Team Awards - Silver

A Silver Award went to the Dental Hygiene Collaboration with Stowe Mission of Central Ohio Dental Clinic. Stowe Mission of Central Ohio provides multiple services such as food, household items, education, and more to neighborhoods around South Parsons Avenue.  The faculty developed a formal program where students could provide dental services to the neighborhood. The team members are Beth Vetter, Connie Grossman, and team leader Daniel Collins

Photo of 2nd silver team award winners
Silver Award: 2018 Service Awards Team

To top of page 

Service Team Awards - Silver

A Silver Award went to the 2018 Service Awards Team. Led by Barbara Allen in the Professional Development & Retention unit of the Human Resources, the Spirit of Community Day of Recognition: 2018 Service Awards Celebration began as a way to widen the circle of celebration to fully honor our employee community to show a deeper, more concrete appreciation for their service. The members of the team are Paula Teeter, Rich James, Morgan Sayre, Nichole Bowman-Glover,  Patty Gabrenya, Lori Gage, Brianne Wears, Kyle Strohecker, Elycia Taylor, and Jennifer Hendricks.

Photo of silver team award winners
Dental Hygiene Collaboration with Stowe Mission of Central Ohio Dental Clinic team

To top of page 

Service Team Awards - Gold

The Gold Team Award went to the Mobile/Flexible Classroom Technology Project. The goal of this vital project was to develop and implement a new classroom model that supported the use of mobile and flexible technology in 15 Columbus Campus classrooms. And there were no fewer than 30 people on this team that made it happen. The rooms were created to support the English Accelerated Learning Program, the mathematics co-requisites, and mathematics contextualized courses.

The members of the Mobile/Flexible Classroom Technology Project are Martin Maliwesky, Bart Prickett, Etienne Martin, Monalisa Mawalkar, Joseph Gaines, Richard Brown, Martin Barry, Chris Grubbe, Mark Lynde, Chris Terry, Jason Armintrout, Stefan Armintrout, Tim Kennedy, Brian Van Horn, Corey Apling, George Johnson, Nick Malpezzi, Tim Malloy, Dan Wood, Travis Stewart, Rhonda Gurio, Ryan James, Martina Cora, Chris Scanlon, Christina Stillion, Joseph Butchko, Harry Lloyd, Sarah Barry, Betty Richardson, and Michele Arnold. Jim Beidler was the team leader.

Group photo of gold award winners
 Gold Award: Mobile/Flexible Classroom Technology Project team

To top of page 

Distinguished Full Professor

The Distinguished Full Professor award was presented to Judith Anderson from the English Department. She was selected by a committee of her peers for her leadership, community service, and commitment to innovation in teaching.

Photo of full professor award winner
Judith Anderson, professor of English


To top of page 

Back to Update


Submit your news to Update

Do you have news or an announcement for the employees of Columbus State? Send your news to Update, the Columbus State newsletter exclusively for employees. Update is published every Monday and Thursday during the semester, and on Mondays during semester breaks. Send your news to by Friday at 9 a.m. for inclusion in the Monday edition, and Wednesday at 9 a.m. for the Thursday edition. Update editors reserve the right to edit submissions for clarity, brevity and editorial style.

Submit your news to students in Campus Life

Are you hosting a special event for students, starting a new class next semester, offering a workshop or seminar of interest, or would you like to share a special student success story? Send your news to Campus Life, the weekly online publication for Columbus State students. Send student news to by Tuesday at 9 a.m. for inclusion in the Wednesday edition of Campus Life. Campus Life headlines are sent to students via email each Wednesday during the semester.